All articles
Lead conversion30 October 2026 5 min read

What Is a Connected Minute in AI Calling?

What a connected minute is, when the clock starts and stops, how ring time, voicemail and pulse rounding change an AI calling bill, and a worked Rs 6 per minute month.

Written by The IndiaCalling.ai team · We build AI voice sales agents for Indian real estate developers, working directly with presales teams and portal leads.

(illustrative) A presales head in Pune opens the monthly invoice from her AI calling vendor. Her team dialled 1,000 leads. The dashboard shows 550 answered. The invoice says 1,925 minutes billed. She has three numbers, three possible meanings of "minute", and one bill. Which number did she pay for? The answer depends on where the clock starts, where it stops, and how the vendor rounds. Those three choices decide whether the bill is fair, and vendors answer them differently.

Key takeaways

  • Connected time begins at answer: Twilio's in-progress status means the call has been connected, and Exotel's first pulse starts at call connection (Twilio and Exotel docs, accessed 30 Oct 2026).
  • TRAI Press Release No. 80/2012 (20 April 2012) made at least one tariff plan with a one-second pulse mandatory in each service area, though it covers consumer tariffs.
  • Exotel bills Pulses = CEIL(call_duration / pulse_duration), so at its 60-second default a 61-second call is 2 pulses.
  • Vapi prorates its platform fee to the second and Retell tracks calls to the nearest second, while Twilio rounds partial minutes up.
  • IndiaCalling.ai's pricing page states connected-minute billing but no rounding rule, so ask for the rule in writing.

What is a connected minute?

A connected minute is one minute of live conversation between an AI voice agent and a person who has picked up. IndiaCalling.ai is an AI voice sales agent platform for Indian real estate developers, and its agent combines ASR (automatic speech recognition), an LLM (large language model) and TTS (text-to-speech) to talk to leads. Only time after the lead answers can count.

Use the Three-Minutes Ladder to read any invoice. Dialled minutes sit on the bottom rung and include ringing. Connected minutes are the middle rung: answer to hang-up. Billed minutes are the top rung, and they equal connected minutes only if the vendor bills to the second. Most invoice disputes are a disagreement about which rung is being counted.

When does the clock start and stop?

It starts when the called party answers and stops at hang-up. Twilio defines in-progress as "The call has been connected, and the connection is currently active" and completed as "The connected call has now been disconnected." Exotel's pricing page says billing begins "When the callee answers" and charges "from answer to hangup" (accessed 30 Oct 2026).

Everything before the answer is outside that window. Twilio lists queued, ringing, busy, no-answer, canceled and failed as separate statuses, and none of them describes an answered call. The table maps each state to what vendors publish.

Call state by call state: is it connected time, and is it billed?
Call stateConnected time?Typically billed (vendor pages opened 30 Oct 2026)IndiaCalling.ai per /pricing
Dialled or queuedNoNot stated on the pages openedNot stated
RingingNoAutocalls.ai: unanswered calls billed only if audio was producedNot stated; page bills connected minutes
No answerNoRetell: "only charged for connected calls"Not stated; page bills connected minutes
BusyNoAutocalls.ai: small answering-machine detection cost still appliesNot stated; page bills connected minutes
FailedNoAutocalls.ai: failed calls not billedNot stated; page bills connected minutes
Voicemail or answering machineDepends on vendorRetell: billed only while the AI agent is active on the lineNot stated
Talk, hold or silence after answerYesRetell: billing covers the entire call, including silence and hold"Connected minutes when the AI agent is actively speaking with your leads"
After-call processingNoNot stated on the pages openedNot stated
Vendor billing as published on the pages shown in Sources, accessed 30 Oct 2026. Check current terms with each vendor.

Is ring time, busy or voicemail billed?

It varies by vendor, and voicemail is the trap. Retell's pricing page says "You are only charged for connected calls" and that for calls reaching voicemail, "billing applies only for the duration the AI agent is active on the line." Autocalls.ai's billing guide says unanswered calls are billed only if audio was produced, failed calls are not billed, and calls with no audio carry no call charge, though a small answering-machine detection cost applies.

The Exotel billing FAQ does not say whether unanswered calls are billed, so a telephony price alone does not settle it. Ask every vendor how a recorded greeting is billed. To the network, a voicemail pickup is an answer, and an agent that talks to it can run up connected minutes.

Per-second or 60-second pulse: how much does rounding change the bill?

Rounding can add up to a full pulse to every call. On a 3 minute 20 second call (200 seconds), a 60-second pulse bills 4 minutes against 3.33 minutes billed per second, a 20% increase. Exotel's rule is Pulses = CEIL(call_duration / pulse_duration), and its FAQ says the second pulse "begins at 61 seconds."

That release covers postpaid and prepaid consumer tariff plans and does not mention AI calling platforms. It shows per-second billing is a normal expectation in India, not that your vendor uses it. Enterprise telephony can differ, as the table shows.

Billing unit by vendor, as published on pages opened 30 Oct 2026
VendorBilling unit as publishedPage date
ExotelPulse, default 60 seconds; Pulses = CEIL(duration / pulse); first pulse starts at connection30 Oct 2026
TwilioPartial minutes (under 60 seconds) rounded up to the next full minute30 Oct 2026
VapiPlatform fee of $0.05 per minute, "Prorated to the second"30 Oct 2026
Retell AI"Tracked to the nearest second"; no rounding up per call30 Oct 2026
Autocalls.ai30-second minimum charge per call, then by the second30 Oct 2026
BolnaSpeech-to-text rounded to seconds; telephony provider rounded to minutes; plus a flat per-minute platform fee30 Oct 2026
Vendor billing units as published on the dates shown; check current terms.

How does IndiaCalling.ai bill?

The IndiaCalling.ai pricing page states "₹6/ connected minute" with zero monthly fee on the Pay as you go plan, and "You are billed only for connected minutes when the AI agent is actively speaking with your leads." It also says telephony, proprietary speech recognition and LLM intelligence are "all bundled into the per-minute rate" (accessed 30 Oct 2026).

The page does not state a rounding rule, how voicemail is treated, a minimum call length or how GST applies. Those are the questions to put in writing before you commit to a volume.

What does a month of connected minutes cost?

At Rs 6 per connected minute, 1,000 dialled leads cost about Rs 11,550 under the assumptions below, which is Rs 21 per connected call and Rs 11.55 per dialled lead. The sum counts only the middle rung of the ladder.

Illustrative month: from dialled leads to a connected-minute bill
StepAssumption or workingResult
Leads dialledAssumption1,000
Answered (connected) calls55% answer rate550
Connected minutes550 calls x 3.5 minutes average1,925
Cost at Rs 6 per connected minute1,925 x Rs 6Rs 11,550
Cost per connected call3.5 minutes x Rs 6Rs 21
Cost per dialled leadRs 11,550 / 1,000Rs 11.55
Representative figures based on typical real estate presales operations. Methodology: dialled minutes include ring time and are not the billed unit; connected means answer to hang-up; billed depends on vendor rounding. This sum assumes billing to the second at the pricing page rate and leaves out GST and any add-on the page does not list.

Rounding changes the picture on a vendor that rounds up. If rounding added an average 30 seconds to each of the 550 calls, that is 275 extra minutes, or Rs 1,650 more at Rs 6, a 14% rise. The 30 seconds is an assumption, not an IndiaCalling.ai figure. Use the cost-per-site-visit calculator to run your own numbers.

When does connected-minute billing not work for you?

  • A low answer rate hides inside a small bill. Cheap minutes with few conversations still cost you leads, so track cost per connected call, not only the rate.
  • A verbose agent inflates minutes. Under any per-minute model, a longer script bills more, so set a target call length.
  • Voicemail detection failures can bill dead air if a recorded greeting counts as an answer.
  • Transfers may keep telephony running. Retell's page says that after a transfer, only the telephony fee continues for the rest of the call.
  • Pulse rounding punishes short calls most, because each call rounds up by a larger share of its length.
  • Charges can sit outside the rate. Exotel's FAQ lists ExoPhone rentals charged on the 1st of each month, separate from call usage.
  • No written rule means no bargaining power. If the rounding and voicemail terms are not in the contract, ask.

For why call timing matters before billing does, see our speed-to-lead guide, and for the wider cost comparison see AI versus human telecallers for real estate.

Frequently asked questions

What counts as a connected minute?

A connected minute is time on a live call from the moment the called party answers until hang-up. Twilio calls this in-progress, and Exotel starts billing when the callee answers. Ringing, busy, no-answer and failed attempts are not connected time. Whether a vendor then bills those seconds exactly or rounds them up is a separate question to settle in writing.

Is ring time billed?

Not on the pages checked. Retell says you are only charged for connected calls, and Autocalls.ai bills unanswered calls only if audio was produced. The Exotel billing FAQ does not address unanswered calls, so a telephony vendor's terms may differ. Ask any vendor in writing whether ringing, busy and voicemail attempts carry a charge.

Per-second or per-minute, which is cheaper?

At the same rate, per-second billing never costs more than a 60-second pulse. Exotel's formula is CEIL(duration / 60), so a 61-second call bills as two pulses. On a 3 minute 20 second call, per-minute rounding bills 4 minutes against 3.33, a 20% increase. The gap matters most when calls are short.

Does IndiaCalling.ai bill unanswered calls?

The pricing page says you are billed only for connected minutes when the AI agent is actively speaking with your leads. It does not describe how voicemail, busy or failed calls are treated, or whether partial minutes are rounded. Confirm those details in writing before you commit to a volume.

What is a pulse?

A pulse is the minimum billable unit of a voice call. Exotel's documentation gives 60 seconds as the default pulse for outbound API, inbound, click-to-call and campaign calls, billed as CEIL(call duration / pulse duration). A one-second pulse bills almost exactly what you talk, while a 60-second pulse rounds each call up to the next whole minute.

How do I estimate monthly minutes?

Multiply leads dialled by your answer rate, then by average connected call length. The example uses 1,000 leads, a 55% answer rate and 3.5 minutes, giving 1,925 connected minutes. Replace each input with your own numbers, then add an allowance for rounding. IndiaCalling.ai has a cost-per-site-visit calculator you can use to run your own figures.

See it work on your own leads

Book a 30 minute call and we will show you an AI sales agent built on your projects and your numbers.

Book a call
Your agent is awake right now

Stop losing the leads you already paid for.

Book a 30 minute call and we will show you exactly how an AI sales agent would work on your projects, your leads and your numbers.

Book your call
Book a demo Hear the AI